1f25 blog response 1: Media Impact on Others

It is considerably significant of the impact that the mass media has on not only me, but on others as well. While looking and embarking upon other blogs with topics such as this, I found that many shared the same opinion in which the mass media has greatly affected society as a whole.

                From a blog I read by Chloe Lemay, http://chloejocelyn.blogspot.ca/ she says “I have been corrupted to expect people to be either interesting, good and amazing like heroes on TV and half of the people on tumblr”. This was an interesting way to put things. I found that Chloe touched upon the major sites such as Tumblr and television to have an egregious effect on the way people think and act. I’ve made a Tumblr account myself, and so I can relate to what Chloe is saying and ever since I made an account on Tumblr, I’ve changed immensely as a person. Fashion wise, it gives great pictures of clothing and expression which is what I enjoy most about it however, it also comprises with many advertisements that can have a negative effect on a person, such as; many images and written  quotes that can hugely touch one’s insecurities. There have been many times where I’ve scrolled on my news feed to find pictures that have made me think “If only I were to look like her…” causing me to over think and further engage with this aspect to what the mass media has given to us.

                As for another blog I found by Ashley Penrice http://apenrice.wordpress.com/ she shares her thoughts on the ideal image of a girl being affected by the mass media. She says, “The media tends to show people in an unrealistic way, causing girls to resort to diets or eating disorders to resemble the skinny image. Although I have not had to deal with this issue personally, it has touched people close to me, trying to make themselves look ‘proper’ or ‘perfect’. “ I unquestionably  can relate to what she is pointing out here. We’ve all heard and touched upon this in class at one point in our lives; about how many girls have suffered do to eating disorders and wanting to have that ‘perfect’ image or be like a celebrity which corresponds to how we all are aware of this and even if we haven’t experienced this ourselves, most of us probably know of someone is suffering from this just like Ashley.

                A blog I read which gave me a different perspective and impression that changed one of my ways of thinking was from Jaime Foster http://comedressedtoimpress.wordpress.com/. “I’ve been into gaming since I was young and I now know the extent that this media reaches into your life, especially if you’re a super-geek like me and live by your favorite franchise.” Jaime says this which gave me a lot to think about. I never noticed how video games could impact others on a media-influential level. After reading what Jaime’s thoughts were, I started to notice that video games also play a big part in contributing the masses of the media’s influence. Lately, I’ve been hearing that a new game came out which was Grand Theft Auto 5. His video game in particular is a very violent and corrupted game. The fact that so many people play it gives for others to unknowingly be so captivated by what messages are actually derived from it.

                In a significant result, I found that their worldviews commonly talked about how we are constantly engaged towards the media and how we take in what the media gives us as well. My initial thoughts were very similar to many others however I found that there are other certain ways that the media can influence us. We live, breathe, and yearn for what the media has for us next.

Leave a comment